Mary’s Milk Bar // 19 Grassmarket, Edinburgh

I can’t believe I’m leaving Edinburgh for good in a week!
I’ve been totally spoilt living in such an amazing city for the past four and a half years. I made the decision to move back down South at the beginning of the year, which was so difficult due to the fact that I love my friends, job and life here, which I hope is reflected in The City Girl’s Kitchen. But life moves on, and sometimes you’ve got to make tough decisions to move your life forward  (listen to me trying to convince myself I’m definitely making the right decision!).
So, for the next week, I’ve got to make the most of the time I have left here for a while. Which means trying to see as many buds as possible and ticking off places I’ve wanted to go to for ages but haven’t had the chance. And today, it was the turn of Andy and Mary’s Milk Bar! Yaaay!

IMG_0496

I’ve wanted to visit Mary’s for a while. I’m in love with Art Deco, 50s and 60s design and anything homemade. Mary makes all of the gelato in the shop and the beautiful handmade chocolates. The retail shelves are piled high with chocolate-y treats, such as hot chocolate flakes and pots of homemade salted caramel, all thoughtfully packaged and labelled.

IMG_0490 IMG_0480IMG_0485IMG_0487

The only problem you’ll have at Mary’s is deciding what flavour to have. They change daily, depending on what Mary fancies, and you can have them in scoops, sundaes or shakes, which get whizzed up on the beautiful pistachio green milkshake machine.

IMG_0482 IMG_0483 IMG_0484 IMG_0492 IMG_0493

Andy chose a banana, peanut and chocolate shake and I had white chocolate and thyme. As we drank we flicked through the vintage recipe books.
I have to say, I don’t actually like milk. The thought of drinking a whole milkshake makes me feel a bit ill. But when Mary let us try the gelato, I decided to bite the bullet. And I’m not looking back. The sweet white chocolate is surprisingly delicious mixed with earthy thyme, and the banana, peanut butter and peanut shake tasted just as amazing as it sounds. I was seriously disappointed to reach the bottom of the glass!

IMG_0498 IMG_0505

I also had a sneaky try of the handmade peppermint chocolate which was divine! Mary is so welcoming and friendly and I’m sure will be more than happy to advise you on flavours.
A visit to Mary’s should definitely be on your to do list if you’re visiting Edinburgh, and if you live here, you should be a regular!

Find Mary’s Milk Bar here.

Leave a Reply

