This week I’m eating: Kinda Fancy Omelettes

The last week of the month is always a tough one – and January’s count down to pay day is notoriously difficult. Unluckily for me, January is also my birthday month, and after being away for so long over Christmas, I seem to have done a lot of catching up with friends recently…which has left me with a grand total of £10.24, to last me from Sunday to Friday of this week. *gives self a slow clap*

giphy

Whenever I’m really, seriously skint, I always buy eggs. I think that stems from a story I heard waaaaaay back when, in freshers week: A rumour went around about a guy who spent his whole student loan about two weeks into term. Unable to pay his rent, he moved into the library and bought the only thing he could afford: eggs. Looking back, as a graduate, I can see the flaws in this story.Where did he cook said eggs? What did he do with all his stuff? What did he do when the library closed? Alas, this in the end was just a rumour, BUT it kind-of-sort-of-doesn’t-really prove that eggs are really good when you’re poor. I just wanted to tell you that story.

Moving swiftly on: they’re such a great nutritious meal and really fill you up, can be eaten for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and with just a few extras, can be totally made over for each meal. I’m not going to insult your intelligence and tell you how to make an omelette. I’m guessing that if you’re actively searching for and reading food blogs you’re more than likely to know how to make one. But I am going to show you a few flavour combinations that I’ve been experimenting with over the past few days. Yes, I had to do a bit of digging to the back of the fridge and freezer, and yes, I’ve had feta for TWO DAYS IN A ROW but I really don’t mind because feta is a Greek GOD amongst cheeses. 

I use two eggs in my omelette because I’m a penny saver and prefer to bulk them out with cheap veg like potato and spinach instead, but if you’re a warrior or simply a little bit more hungry you can use three (I did in fact use three in the last one, as it was for dinner). So, here we go, three deliciously simple and tasty omelettes:

1. The Salty and Sweet: Mint, pea and feta

IMG_0414

Put a handful of frozen peas into a bowl and cover with boiling water. Whisk two eggs in a cup and season. Heat a tsp of oil in a pan and add the eggs. When cooked to your liking, sprinkle with feta and chopped mint. Drain the peas and throw them on top too. Voila! 

IMG_0425

IMG_0419

2. The Popeye: Mixed baby tomatoes, feta and spinach

IMG_0471

Whisk your eggs, season and add to a hot oiled pan. When cooked to your liking, cover the base with spinach, tomatoes and sprinkle the feta over the top. If you like, use a saucepan lid to cover the pan in order to steam the spinach and melt the feta for a few minutes.

IMG_0479 IMG_0486

3. The Spanish Invasion: Potato, chorizo, white onion and parsley 

IMG_0490

Add one small finely sliced potato and half a finely sliced onion to a pan of 2 tbsp hot oil. Fry for about 5 minutes, until nicely brown. Be sure to flip the potatoes over to brown both sides. Add about 100g chorizo (or to taste) to the pan and make sure it’s evenly distributed through the veg. Whisk three eggs, season and pour over the top, moving the pan to make sure the eggs cover the base. Leave until cooked, about 4 mins, sprinkle with chopped parsley and enjoy.

IMG_0511 IMG_0518

What are your favourite omelette combinations? Answers below please!

Chloé xxx

4 comments

  1. Hah, I do the exact same thing when the student budget gets a bit tight; always make omelettes (or frittatas if I’m feeling fancy). These look so good, especially like the salty and sweet; peas, feta and mint go so well together. Im a huge fan of tasty but thrifty meals.


Leave a Reply

