Fig // Date // Banana Breakfast Bars

In my previous post, I mentioned that breakfast is my favourite meal of the day. However, I’m also a very deep sleeper, and my bed is very comfy, which means that I don’t always get time to enjoy it. These breakfast bars are great, as I can have a quick bite whilst walking to work or getting ready, and they’ll keep me full till lunch.

I’ve been playing around with the recipe for a while, trying to find the perfect binding agent which is still tasty, but not too calorific or sugary. I really wanted these to be a good start to the day, something that was going to be good to my body and really fill me up, which is why I’ve included so many oats, seeds and nuts.

Image

Image

The great thing about this recipe is that you can pretty much substitute the dried fruit and nuts for any type that you fancy, such as dried cranberries or almonds. You can use fresh fruit if you want, but be aware that it will release a lot more water into the bake so that the final affect will be a little bit wetter – you may need to bake for a little longer. Also, everything in this recipe is 100% natural, and a much more healthy start than any shop bought cereal bars. If you’re not grabbing these to go, they’re also great crumbled over Greek yoghurt with fruit and honey – a kind of ready made granola!

Image

So, you will need:

1 cup honey (or Agave nectar for vegans)

1 cup pureed ripe banana

1 tsp cinnamon

1tsp vinilla extract

3 cups rolled oats

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 cup chopped hazelnuts

1/2 cup chopped dried dates

1/2 cup chopped dried figs

Handful whole hazelnuts

**Contrary to the pictures, this recipe makes 12, however my family got there first.**

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees and line an 11x6inch baking tray with baking parchment.

Combine the honey, banana puree, vanilla extract and cinnamon in a large bowl.

Stir in the oats, making sure they are evenly dispersed, then add the rest of the ingredients. Make sure the dates and figs aren’t stuck together and have dispersed throughout the mixture.

Using a rubber spatula, pack the mixture into the baking tin, making sure it is completely flat, and all the corners are filled.

Bake in the oven for 25 minutes. Once the tin has cooled, place in the fridge or freezer for at least an hour to set firm.

Image

Enjoy! x

2 comments

  1. Pretty! I need to treat myself better and stop buying pre-made cereal and granola bars. It’s what I subsist on out in the woods. These are so lovely and versatile, I just need to make some time for myself to put them together. Easier said than done, but…. they look so good!


Leave a Reply

