Edinburgh Farmers’ Market

Saturday is my favourite day of the week. I especially love Saturday mornings: the quietness of the city, not feeling guilty for eating croissants for breakfast and the freedom of having a free full day ahead all add to this.

Last Saturday, my friend Sean and I sacrificed our lie-in’s and took a stroll down to Edinburgh Farmers’ Market.

Running from 9am-2pm every Saturday, it really it a lovely way to start your weekend in Edinburgh. The first thing that you notice is the setting. It takes place at Castle Terrace, just near Grassmarket, against the beautiful backdrop of Edinburgh Castle.

We wandered along the long row of stalls (taking full advantage of the free tasters) before settling on what we wanted to eat.

You can find porridge, cheese, bread, fresh veg, jam, meat, burgers, chocolate…all from local businesses, a quater of whom grow what they sell.

After much deliberation Sean went for a hog roast from Oink. I, originally, was going to pick some sort of baked goods, but after seeing Sean’s I couldn’t resist.

Oink also have a shop in the Grassmarket, and their baps come with a choice of stuffing or haggis with optional crackling (although you’re mad if you turn that down). Obviously we smothered ours with apple sauce too!

Waiting patiently

The finished article

Such a delicious way to spend a sunny morning in Edinburgh.

I literally can’t wait until next Saturday!

3 comments

  1. The Farmers’ Market is my favourite place to go when I come home to Edinburgh. Every Saturday morning I wish Chicago was within driving distance! Next week try the Angus burgers. They are to die for!!
    Thanks for sharing this. I feel like I’ve been home for a visit 🙂

  2. Pingback: United Kingdom’s Funky Summer Food Festivals | 'Oh the People You Meet!


Leave a Reply

