The Chocolate Tree, 123 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh

Sean ready and waiting!

Now that the clocks have gone back, the evenings are getting darker and the walk home from the library is getting colder, it’s getting more and more tempting to get the bus home. There is one thing, however, that makes the walk worth while. Walking past The Chocolate Tree on a winter’s evening is like peering into santas grotto…sparkling with fairy lights and cosy nooks and crannies, all topped off with the best steaming hot chocolates in town. The steamy windows mean I have to hope there’s no one walking too close behind me, as I always slow down to get a good look inside and check out what everyone’s having. Luckily, when I walked past this evening, my best buddy Sean was waiting to take me for my very own delicious hot chocolate. After perusing the menu, I ended up going for what I always go for. The Spanish style hot chocolate, served with fresh churros – I know (from experience) that you have to be seriously hungry to fit in both cake and hot chocolate here. But, the Spanish hot chocolate with churros for dipping is the perfect balance between the two. Rolled in cinnamon sugar and perfectly crispy, I couldn’t think of anything more delicious to warm up a Thursday evening. Sean went for the classic Madagascan hot chocolate, so creamy and smooth.

Me doing what I do best. Nomnomnom.

If I had room I probably would have gone for this star studded chocolate cheesecake.   Although both the cake and chocolate counter were pretty hard to resist too…   You’ll defiantly see me back here soon making the most of the…er…free wifi. I literally can’t resist!

The end!

6 comments

  1. Looks great – loving the blog, I grew up in Edinburgh very close to this cafe before defecting to the West for uni and never returning – nice to have a wee window on what’s going on there food wise.

  2. Another nice thing about The Chocolate Tree – if they need to ask you to leave when they’re closing up in the evening, they’ll give you a free hot chocolate to take away with you. And boy is it nice hot chocolate.


Leave a Reply

